Dressing the Character – Intro Post

17 Sep

Let’s talk about designing a costume!

“But stonebiscuit,” I hear my legions of readers say, “what makes you qualified to write about costume design? You can’t sew, your renderings are shit, and you are less funny than you think you are.” First, that’s kind of rude. Second, my qualifications are many-fold. For one thing, I am very opinionated. For another, I enjoy sharing my opinions. Now that we’ve established I’m qualified to talk about costume design on the interwebs, let’s move on.

We at stone biscuit productions are proud to introduce a new feature here at What Is This I Can’t Even:

Dressing the Character

The idea here is to talk through the process of designing a costume from the beginning to the end, starting with an idea and ending with a workable list or a rendering or a stick figure drawing with lots of arrows or some combination of those. My aim is to go through all the things that one could ever possibly need to consider in designing a costume, from bottom to top, shoes to headgear, underthings to makeup, prosthetics, and accessories. I will most assuredly fall short of this goal, BUT! I at least want this to be a jumping-off point.

Questions I Have Frequently Asked Myself

  • Why “Dressing the Character” rather than “Designing a Costume”? I think it sounds better? Seriously though, my degree is in acting, not in costume design. I don’t know shit about how costume designers work, and I don’t want to pretend to; all I know is my process, which is essentially just deciding what my character would wear.
  • Will this be a single post, or a series of posts? I’m glad you asked. Dressing the Character is going to be a series, posted approximately once a week. I’ll be aiming for a new post every Friday. I was also aiming to get up before eleven today, though, so let’s not bet the farm.
  • What sort of costuming will be the focus? It’s going to be mostly geared towards renaissance festival costuming, since that’s where most of my experience lies, but I’ll include considerations for other venues as I think of them. Honestly, I don’t think there’s that much of a difference once you get past the character creation part.
  • Will you be including real-life examples? Why yes! How funny you should ask. I will, in fact, be adding Real Life Costuming Profiles, featuring people whose costumes I love/envy/respect/admire/want to eat. These will go up as I get them from people. Again, most of those people will be renaissance festival performers, because that’s what I have most experience with. If you’d like to be included and I haven’t contacted you, feel free to tell me (empresscats at gmail dot com). I promise nothing.
  • Seriously, why do you think you’re qualified to talk about this? Because I’ve got nothing else to do. Boredom is the mother of blog posts.
  • Will you accept, encourage, and perhaps even beg for questions, comments, suggestions, discussion topics, links, resources, and guest submissions? Why yes. Yes, I will.
Any questions? Look for the first portion of Dressing the Character on Friday. What day is it? Saturday? Great, that gives me plenty of time.
3 Responses to “Dressing the Character – Intro Post”

  1. cbelles September 17, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    I eagerly await the next post so I can begin dressing as a character. During the wait I will attempt to decide what character I am. Thanks you so very much for your truly awesome inspiration! You are a wonderful person and I want to be just like you!

  2. stonebiscuit September 17, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Thanks, Mom! Er…I mean…thanks, random reader!

  3. cbellesjr October 30, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Teach me, wise one! I wanna costume cool like you.

Leave a Reply

