So excited!

20 Oct

Today my aunt bought me The Elizabethan Lady’s Ensemble Three Pack from Margo Anderson’s line of historical costuming patterns! It should be here next week. I’ll be making Esperanza, my ren faire character, some new threads. Watch this space for tears, frustration, and swearing as I attempt the corset, doublet bodice, and a couple of different sleeves. Woo, swearing!

6 Responses to “So excited!”

  1. Ann Coston Neff October 20, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    I have the ladies wardrobe, and totally, utterly bogged down trying to iron all those zillions of pattern pieces onto freezer paper. I love reading it though. Many details and pictures of all the stages will be appreciated!

  2. stonebiscuit October 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    I will definitely post pictures! I’ve worked with her Elizabethan Gentleman’s patterns before, and did not care for them for a number of reasons. I much preferred the Lady’s patterns, possibly because I am…well, a woman, if not a lady.

    Tell me more about the freezer paper. I’d like to be able to preserve the patterns somehow, because they’re expensive and sizes change, but folding along the size lines was two bitches and a bastard and the idea of tracing them just gives me hives.

  3. Ann Coston Neff October 21, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    “Tout le monde” says to get freezer paper, and iron the pattern pieces onto it, to strengthen them. Well, I had these enormous sheets of pattern draped all around the room to cool after being ironed, and then the already sturdy paper of Margo’s pattern is even thicker, and harder to fold and handle. And I’d only done a small fraction of the pattern. Can you tell I was am still frustrated? And, to me, it makes it even more difficult to find the size lines. I want to make something from the comfort ensemble, assuming I ever have occasion to dress nicely in costume, and not as a shop serf.

  4. stonebiscuit October 21, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    That sounds terrifically frustrating; some of those pieces are really big!

    What I really want is for a brownie to show up after my patterns arrive and trace the appropriate sizes on pattern tracing material. I love that stuff. You can iron it, fold it, crumple it, and it’s almost impossible to accidentally tear. What will probably happen is that I do it myself, swear and cry a lot, and stop halfway through to go play Arkham City.

    I would love to see what you do with the comfort patterns!

  5. Ann Coston Neff October 21, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    “Pattern tracing material” — is that the fibrous stuff with gridlines? I had some I used for skirt gores, I think. Wonderful stuff, and I’d forgotten all about it. I need to search some out, and see if I could trace onto that, unless those brownies show up.

    When I was doing a lot of sewing, I had a lot more free time (either unemployed, or working in the school system), and I just can’t seem to manage the big projects anymore.

  6. stonebiscuit October 22, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    It is fibrous, but I prefer the stuff without gridlines. Too many lines=confused biscuit. It’s lovely and inexpensive. :D

    If the brownies show up, I will direct them to your place.

Leave a Reply

