Racism and Halloween – Think before you costume

21 Oct

I want to draw attention to an internet campaign I ran into somewhere on Tumblr. As best I can figure, it originated here, but Tumblr is a strange and vast place and I can’t guarantee that’s true.

There is more about this topic at Native Appropriations. Before anyone tries to tell me that “this sort of thing is all in good fun and isn’t as important as XYZ issue,” stop and think for a minute. Racism, like classism, sexism, ableism, ageism, heterenormativity, and other assorted bigotries has everything to do with seemingly innocuous things like stupid costumes and ethnic jokes, because innocuous things normalize those bigotries.

Think before you put on a racist costume like this. Even if you’re 100% pro-racism, do you really want to look like a moron? Because you will.

4 Responses to “Racism and Halloween – Think before you costume”

  1. cbellesc October 21, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    ok this is true – all of it – therefore no dressing up as a southern redneck.You know why people are called rednecks? Because they work outside all day in the hot sun making hardly any money and they are permanently sunburned. While that may not seem like a big deal to you – to me – I have a family full of folks who worked hard really hard and never made much money – so – thats not me and thats not my culture.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quick post – Halloween links you should check out « What Is This I Can't Even - October 26, 2011

    […] What Is This I Can't Even Another damn costuming blog HomeAbout RSS Feed ← Racism and Halloween – Think before you costume […]

  2. On sewing failures « What Is This I Can't Even - October 29, 2011

    […] So the post about racist costumes has been the most popular post by far on this blog. Part of me wants to try and repeat that success […]

Leave a Reply

