I need your help: Hunger Games costuming

30 Jan

You may be aware of a book called The Hunger Games. If you’re not, you should become familiar for two reasons: one, it’s a good book, and two, this post will not make any sense otherwise.

The movie of the book comes out in March. And I am going. At midnight. In costume.

There are lots of options for Hunger Games costuming! Katniss has half a dozen outfits, each described in just enough detail to keep the interpreting of them fun. Once a book becomes a movie, costuming fandom tends to overlook book-inspired takes on the characters (OH HI, HARRY POTTER) that don’t match the movie’s costuming, so AFAIC, the premiere of a movie is the last chance to have fun with dressing up. And “for fun” is the only legitimate reason in my mind to dress up.

So.

I didn’t think too hard about what I would want to dress as. To be honest, I didn’t think about it at all before I made my decision. I mean…I am not going to cover myself in coal dust. And I am not going to sew anything. So as Lord Elrond would say, I have only one choice. The Ring must be cast I am going as a citizen of the Capitol.

I have a ridiculous, horrifying, slightly stinky faux fur coat that I bought for  a Jane Austen’s Fight Club costume a few years ago. In my stocking this year, my parents gave me temporary lip tattoos*. I have a purple bob wig that my hair may or may not completely fit under. To be perfectly accurate, I have an entire closet of questionable fashion choices and a lifetime’s worth of loving tacky shit at my disposal.

With Capitol residents, the sky is the limit–whiskers, green skin, gold facial tattoos, blue lips, the list goes on. I admit to being a little daunted by the world of choices before me. So help me out! Give me suggestions, people! What would YOU say are the absolute must-haves for a Capitol citizen costume?

*the latest in a long line of silly things given as stocking gifts. One year I got a Catwoman Happy Meal action figure. I was 20. She lives on my car’s dashboard and rattles when I go over 70.

7 Responses to “I need your help: Hunger Games costuming”

  1. Indigo January 30, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    Enormous bedazzled fake eyelashes, especially if they’re the same color purple as the wig.

  2. raven January 30, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Those eyelashes that come in shapes, like the Effie trinket promo posters. Ive seen them for sale before. And really awful shoes of a ridiculous height. And me on your arm cause I’m so. Freaking. Excited.

    • stonebiscuit January 30, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

      I have a pair of really magnificent magenta patent leather boots with 3″ spike heels, but they are a size too small. I’m currently undecided as to whether or not that’s enough to dissuade me from wearing them.

    • stonebiscuit January 30, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

      P.S. You would be the best accessory. All the Capitol fashionistas would have to have one. ;}

  3. Jenn Steele February 23, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    I’m in love with the idea of Face Lace now. They aren’t for sale yet, but will be soon :)
    http://face-lace.com/products

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hunger Games – mah Capitol Citizen costume! « What Is This I Can't Even - March 25, 2012

    […] as you may recall, I did a costume for the Hunger Games premiere. Given that I’m elbows deep in the […]

Leave a Reply

