The cape is done. Long live the shirt!

9 Feb

I finished the cape. Last week. Two weeks behind schedule. BUT! It’s finished. The red linen-look and the yellow backing look a little like ketchup and mustard together. I’m not entirely sure why, but I like it. It’s vivid, and if there’s one thing I like, it’s vividness. And Ewan McGregor and Christian Bale making love on a rooftop covered in glitter. But that’s not particularly relevant to the discussion, is it? I should post a picture of the cape, I suppose. I’ll do that later.

So now I’m working on the shirts (because I always have two sets of body linens). I’m using the Elizabethan Smock Pattern Generator*, which I have not used before. I loved it before I cut a single piece of fabric, though, because it has no curved seams.

No curved seams!

I am terrible at and hate cutting and sewing curves, so this is pretty much awesome. So far it’s been pretty easy, and had I not been busy live-tweeting my rewatch of Battlestar Galactica, I suspect I would have finished in a few hours, rather than the several days it has taken me. But I’m busy live-tweeting my rewatch of Battlestar Galactica, which is clearly important, so I’m not sorry. I will be in a few weeks when I’m a month behind schedule, but I’m not known for my foresight.

For the shirts, I got a bunch of birdseye cotton. I was on a sample-ordering-binge a couple of months ago, and of all the cottons I got, I liked the birdseye the best. It’s sort and absorbent, it dries quickly, and it looks and feels nicer than the printed cotton I usually get. It was also super cheap! Come to find out, it’s diaper cloth. For cloth diapers. And it only comes in 27″ width. Well…ok! I ordered seven times** the fabric I normally would*** and went to town. So far it’s a little hard to cut, though I may have confused the paper scissors for the fabric scissors again, and a little fray…y, but it feels really nice, it has good body to it, and I like it. If the pattern works out (it seems to be good so far–I’m nearly done), I’m going to be super, super happy. But then I’ll no longer have any reason to put off the corsetry. So.

*It’s by the same people who brought us the Custom Corset Pattern Generator, which I’ve used multiple times to good effect
**hyperbole
***which means seventy times the amount normal people would order, since I always panic and over-buy

3 Responses to “The cape is done. Long live the shirt!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Ren Fest Sewing Project from Hell, 2012: Pictures « What Is This I Can't Even - May 3, 2012

    […] see here. Also, I foolishly washed it without any color catchers, and now it’s pink. Motherfucker. […]

  2. Building the Post-Apocalyptic Avengers « What Is This I Can't Even - September 6, 2012

    […] last minute to cover the gap between shirt and hood. Fabric is leftover from Esperanza’s cape. I want to make this something better–and again, something a different color that’s […]

  3. Fabric! « What Is This I Can't Even - January 16, 2013

    […] It was on MEGA SALE, though, and I think I’m going to use it for my most recent take on the flag cape, but more on that […]

Leave a Reply

