Le Corset: Les Pictures

2 Mar

I was reminded that nothing is real on the internet unless there are pictures of it, so: corset pictures.

image

The pattern.

image

At some point in development. My phone is too small to tell what's really going on here

image

Boning channels: the single most boring part of corsetry

image

Ta-Da again!

image

Ta-Da again!

image

Good show, old chum.

8 Responses to “Le Corset: Les Pictures”

  1. Heather March 2, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Rykie, it looks fabulous!! I hope you are proud of yourself because I sure as hell am. I have always heard that corsets were terrifying, intimidating pieces of clothing to construct. GO YOU!

    (I apologize if this is effusive to the point of fawning or seems insincere. My words, they do go on and on until I am undone by them.)

  2. Jenn Steele March 2, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    Yaaaaaaay, corsetry!

  3. FeedtheBirds April 10, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Wow LOOK at all those snaps – I’ve never had the GUTS to do those. :) Looks like you did a great job. Now did you make the pattern yourself – or follow one?

    • stonebiscuit April 11, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

      Well, I drafted the pattern according to the instructions at the Corset Pattern Generator, which I’ve used several times before. It’s a great tool!

      The grommets were actually the easiest part! IF you get the good ones and the proper tools (Richard the Thread has excellent ones), they’re not hard at all.

  4. FeedtheBirds April 11, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    Well that’s above my abilities – but I’ll file this away for later. Have you checked out PatternReview.com – it has reviews of many patterns and reviews written by regular folks. :)

    • stonebiscuit April 13, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

      I haven’t! I’ll check that out!

      The Corset Pattern Generator is easier than you think. It gives very clear directions, and they’re not jargony at all.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Ren Fest Sewing Project from Hell, 2012: Pictures « What Is This I Can't Even - May 3, 2012

    […] see here and here. Proving enormously comfortable and supportive. I am very proud of it! Two grommets fell out when I […]

Leave a Reply

