What I’m Reading

16 Mar

First: I know I haven’t posted in 14 days. In that time I constructed and reconstructed my bodice something like three times, finally gave up, and started working on my pants, but I still can’t bring myself to talk about it in detail without getting a little shaky, so! instead of forcing myself to do things I dislike*, I’m going to post a link to a costuming blog I’ve been enjoying: The Radclyffe.

The Radclyffe is a blog of Costuming Projects by Kat Brown, who performs with the Guild of St. George at the Bristol Renaissance Faire. I’ve never met the author–I came upon her blog through another blog that I think I stumbled on via the Renaissancefestival.com forums, but I can’t be entirely sure about that because my memory, she is like unto a leaky faucet. By which I mean I forget to do things. Anyway, I’ve really been enjoying it. Her blog, not my leaky faucet of a short-term memory. The blog is fairly new, like mine, but unlike mine, she’s got some really great pictures of some really well-made costumes, including some of a gorgeous Earl of Oxford costume she’s been working on for herself (!!!). I am chockablock full of envy and awe, and am fully digging it. So while you’re waiting for me to get back here and bitch about how bad I am at sewing, check out what an actual seamstress can create!

*which I do plenty, given that I go to the gym two or three times a week, drink half-cut tea, and also sew all the damn time
Leave a Reply

