Poll time!

3 Apr

I promise some fresh, substantial content is coming, but in the meantime, please tell me: should I get a serger, or an adjustable dressmaker’s dummy?

5 Responses to “Poll time!”

  1. Jenn Steele April 3, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Dressmaker’s dummy!

  2. Brooke April 3, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    Ooo good question! I think I got my dress form first but I ended up buying a serger very soon after (I had access to a serger at work so it wasn’t as necessary as a dress form in my size). Now I literally have a family of dress forms.

    If you want to be able to throw stuff in the washing machine without having to sew everything with french seams, you might want a serger first. If you want to perfect your draping skills, look for a dress form (they often go on sale at the fabric stores for Mother’s Day and Christmas). Sergers usually cost more than the adjustable dress forms.

    And food for thought: a serger will definitely require cussing! They can be a pain to thread – get one with a lower looper that you can expose while threading to make life easier. If you get a dress form – get one with a four legged stand (three legs fall over when you use them).

    Hope this helps!

    And never give up on sewing! You will slowly get better without realizing it. =)

  3. annmcn April 3, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    Maybe.

    Is it an itch for new toy, or will you use one or the other?

  4. Kat aka Radclyffe April 4, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Both! But if you get a dress form try to get your hands on a “squishy”. Look up “uniquely you” professional dress forms. They’re so much better for corseted looks. If you do go that route the sizing tends to go a bit large. Go for a size smaller than you usually would.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Poll Time: A Followup « What Is This I Can't Even - April 10, 2012

    […] This is me, following up on this post. […]

Leave a Reply

