Dragon*Con 2012: Pictures

4 Sep

Dragon*Con 2012 has come and gone. I got home yesterday about 6:00, took a shower, got into bed to decompress with kitties, cereal, and video games, and fell asleep before I could manage to brush my teeth, take my clothes off, or even finish the level. I don’t even remember what level I was playing, nor if I saved before I cut it off. I feel like I got hit by a bus full of geeks, booze, and glitter.

When I said that the first time, my friend Elisabeth immediately responded “So you got run over by Priscilla, Queen of the Desert?” And…yes, basically.

Anyway, you’re not interested in my lingering hangover, Gentle Readers; you want to know about costumes! So let’s talk about costumes.

I had ambitious plans this year. As I mentioned very briefly, two of my three planned costumes fell through. Which two? The Gryffindor Pirate and the Southern Oracle. The only two I blogged about. Naturally. But we moved this summer, and I started temping, and also I must spend a great portion of each day sleeping lest I lose my phenomenal cosmic powers. So. I didn’t get those done. MY BAD.

I did, however, finish The Secret Project, and I whipped up a last-minute costume, so let’s talk about that!

The Secret Project was a group of Post-Apocalyptic Avengers. Popular characters inserted into other genres (Steampunk Scooby Doo, Renaissance DC Heroes and Villians, whatever else) has become fairly popular in the last years, and my friend Daniel, of Journey into Awesome, came up with the idea shortly during the 2011 con. Ten of us got together and worked on it for several months:

Back row l-t-r: Hawkeye, Scarlet Witch, Iron (Wo)Man, Ms. Marvel, Thor, Captain America. Front row l-t-r: Black Widow, Spiderman, R2-D2, who, tragically, isn’t ours. Not pictured: Echo, Moon Knight.

I picked the Scarlet Witch after a quick googling of “Avengers members,” and after a lot of me trying to convince him to do The Vision, mr. biscuit picked Spiderman. I also whipped up a Loki head-on-stick, because it just felt right. The two of us (mr. biscuit and I, not Loki and I) angsted and worried and argued quite a bit, but in the end we got it done, and I’m pretty stoked at how these costumes turned out, especially as part of the whole.

The last-minute costume was the One-Eyed, One-Horned, Flying Purple People Eater.

The fake blood was surprisingly tasty and remained gloopy and fresh-looking for several hours, but was super itchy.

I only wore this for a few hours, due to not feeling super great, so I only have the one picture, but the people who got it were pretty enthusiastic about it. I was also pretty pleased; I think this will go in the Emergency Costume Stash*. It was, again, very last minute, but since most of my wardrobe is purple, it was pretty easy. Dress is My Favorite Dress. Crinoline, horn, eyepatch, foot, and gloves from Costumes, Etc. Tights I already had, from…something, I don’t know. I told you most of my wardrobe is purple. They are We Love Colors. Shoes are Chucks. Wings are from Eddie’s Trick Shop. Bloomers were from a ren fest court gown many years ago (fun fact: I was playing Anne Boleyn pre-queen years. They have a big heart that says “Henry” on the butt). I did some fun stuff with makeup, but didn’t get any real pictures of it. Blood is Mehron stage blood, and again, it remained fresh-looking for hours.

I also don’t have a lot of Avengers pictures yet. They’re trickling in, and we have a photoshoot on the 23rd, so I’ll post more when I get them. In the meantime, here’s what I have. A post about the construction will follow, because it’s getting looong. For now, pictures!

I saw two (TWO!) Aquabat costumes this year. Well done, Dragon*Conners.

The group without R2. Since Iron (W0)Man is made form road signs, she’s super reflective. 

 

Spidey relaxing with lunch. And Loki’s head.

 

Spidey before we dirtied him up and colored on his shoes.

At some point we ran into the Steampunk Avengers:

Post-Apocalyptic Scarlet Witch and Steampunk Quicksilver

Spidermans! Spidermen? Doing things that Spidermen do!

Another family portrait: two Scarlet Witches, Wiccan, and Hulkling. Also, incidentally, my favorite picture of me in this getup. 

In the parade!

*for those times when you need a costume last minute, which happens more frequently than I care to admit.

One Response to “Dragon*Con 2012: Pictures”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Halloween! « What Is This I Can't Even - October 31, 2012

    […] you’re having a wild and wacky holiday. In about an hour I’ll get into costume (the One-Eyed One-Horned Flying Purple People Eater, last seen at Dragon*Con), start the tacos, and begin drinking. Hopefully the trick-0r-treaters […]

Leave a Reply

