Les Mis: a movie with(out) teeth

7 Dec

Like approximately 87% of the English-speaking world, I’ve been devouring trailers for the upcoming movie adaptation of Les Misérables, one of the greatest musicals to ever stride ‘cross a stage. For the most part I’ve been too busy weeping over said trailers to really formulate any opinions (other than the constant, low-level refrain of “I wish Russell Crowe would magically turn into Philip Quast“). Fortunately, I’ve stopped crying long enough to determine that  I’m really digging this most recent featurette–which is, fittingly enough, about hair and makeup.

It’s short and not incredibly informative, but it shows a great dedication, especially on the part of Anne “Bad Ass Motherfucker” Hathaway. What really gets me, though, it all the gross teeth. Teeth, which is to say the ruination thereof, get ignored in a lot of period drama, which I think is understandable (because ew), but unfortunate. I’m super stoked at how much thought and attention they appear to have put into this of’t overlooked aspect of makeup. I remain disappointed that they didn’t include Fantine selling her two front teeth, but that’s not actually in the musical and I suppose it would be difficult to mimicv that with any degree of realism, especially when the actress has to sing. Still, what awesome dental makeup. By which I of course mean disgusting dental makeup.

THAT BEING SAID, Thernadier’s gold tooth? I love it as a decorative choice, but I’m not buying it from a character perspective. Maybe in the beginning, when they’re doing well, but in the middle of the musical? Hell no; Thernadier would have sold that shit years ago.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to floss.

2 Responses to “Les Mis: a movie with(out) teeth”

  1. maradanto December 7, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    You’re the only person other than me whom I’m ever heard comment on Fantine selling her two front teeth. Does that mean you actually managed to read the unabridged edition I lent you?

    Even if the answer is No, I’m still impressed, and that’s no easy thing with me when it comes to books.

    • stonebiscuit December 7, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

      I have not. :D That being said, it’s in the abridged version I have read. It saddens me that it’s not in the musical–what a horrid show of desperation.

Leave a Reply

