Soliciting suggestions: Scarlet Witch headdress edition

1 Jan

Happy new year! I have begun 2013 in the way I intend to continue: with food, sex, sleep, and even a little creativity. Then,between the creativity and the bit where I’m fully dressed and curled up under a brand-new heated fleece throw because it’s cold, I started thinking about things that distress me and I realized I need help.

As you may recall, a while ago we did this Post-Apocalyptic Avengers thing, and really enjoyed it. So we’re doing it again. And I have a problem. I cannot figure out what to do about the Scarlet Witch’s motherfucking headdress. The more I talked to people, the more I realized the costume just wasn’t reading, even in the group, without it. For all I think it’s kind of stupid, it needs to be there.

To recap, this is what said headdress looks like:

Yeah.

Yup.

As evidenced by the fact that I tied on a red bandana and called it a day, I have no idea how to translate this weird piece of gear into a post-apocalyptic setting. It makes NO SENSE.

I’m considering an Assassin’s Creed-style hood (more Ezio than Altair), worn further back with a more pronounced widow’s peak, in the same red canvas as the coat:

Altair (L) and Ezio (R), being attractive and well-dressed as is their custom

Hellooooo gentlemen

I’ve also considered:

  • making the damn headdress out of canvas and just wearing it flat against my head, to hell with it
  • getting some kind of helmet or hat or something (maybe an aviator helmet?) and painting/appliqueing the design
  • devil horns
  • duct tape
  • setting everything on fire and starting again with a character whose original artist was not sniffing glue

None of these ideas make me very happy, so if you’re reading this and you’re not too busy recovering from the poor choices you made last night, do me a solid and give me some suggestions. I’ll be your best friend.

5 Responses to “Soliciting suggestions: Scarlet Witch headdress edition”

  1. cbelles January 2, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    What about headwear with goggles/sunglasses? I think that might be a useful piece of clothing rather than simply decorative. I think post-apocalyptic the focus will be on usefulness as well as to suit the personality. Paint the goggles red. If you need a source for all things military my friend Laura and her brother own the largest military surplus store in the east – its in Norfolk VA, M & G Sales Co – they have a website armynavymart.com – amazing stuff
    Also you could use a swim cap and swimming goggles and make those to look more Earhart and the swim goggles come in all colors including red

    • stonebiscuit January 3, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

      I like the goggles idea, and thank you for the link! I’ll check out what they have!

  2. Kat aka Radclyffe January 9, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    Get your hands on some stiff buckram (look for millinery suppliers) or if you want to go even easier/cheaper/more-accessible find some plastic canvas (you know, for kids cross-stitch stuff) Cut the “M” shape of the headpiece out of the flat canvas, cover it with red fabric of your choice. Sew-in some combs at the top and maybe clips at the sides; and ties, or an elastic band from one side to the other that will be mostly hidden by your hair. The plastic canvas will give you the stiffness and between the combs and band/ties it should stay on your head just fine! Experimenting highly encouraged..

    • stonebiscuit January 16, 2013 at 10:48 am #

      I’ve got plenty of the red canvas left over from the coat (I overbought. I always overbuy), so as soon as I get a handle on the next faire project (post forthcoming, incidentally), I’ll give this a go! It sounds like it’ll be easier than I thought!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dragon*Con ’13: There are many copies, and they have a plan | What Is This I Can't Even - April 10, 2013

    […] getting a new headpiece for Scarlet Witch. Ideally our Hawkeye, who made Iron Man and will be wearing it now, is gonna make […]

Leave a Reply

