Fairy Fail Update

15 May

First of all, I love you guys. I woke up this morning to a flood of encouragement and warm fuzzies, here and on my Facebook, that I really needed to be able to get back on the horse. You are all the best.

heart is full of rainbows

Dramatic, but accurate

On the suggestion of many people, I showered, slept, went out for sushi and frozen yogurt, and then tried my hand at belting the faulty gown. You were all right; it looks much better with a belt. I just…still don’t like it. I spent quite a bit of time actively not thinking about it before I came back to try it again, the better to come to it with a clean slate, and I just…I don’t like it. It’s not what I thought it would be, and I don’t like how it fits anywhere, not just at the waist. Specifically I’m unhappy with the arm holes, the way the bodice crosses (badly. It crosses badly), and the just general bulkiness of it. Even with serious belting, the fabric pools and pulls and puffs weirdly and makes me look pregnant. I would have to construct a belt a LOT wider than what I had planned–what basically amounts to an underbust corset–to make it work about half of what I want it to work, and I don’t have the time or energy to make two of those.

Eventually, perhaps this summer, I will take it apart and see if I can figure out what went wrong. I don’t have the time to do that now, though, so I’m starting over, with a pattern I’ve proven I can use and alter accurately and quickly. I’ve got today, part of tomorrow, and part of Friday. I got a little more fabric this morning, and I’m going to make one costume at a time lest I mess up again. I’m starting with mine, the Fairy of Red Grapes. I’ll keep you up to date.

2 Responses to “Fairy Fail Update”

  1. Ann Coston Neff May 15, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    Ya know, I’d never treat the sheer fabric and the heavier as one — the whole appeal of sheer fabrics is their movement and the way light goes through the varying layers of it. Way back in the dark ages, my mother made my prom dresses. One was a slip dress with spaghetti straps, and over it was a lace A-line dress (hush, it was the 60’s), and I loved how the dress moved and floated.

    • stonebiscuit May 15, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

      Hush nothin, that sounds beautiful! :D

      I am definitely treating the two layers as separate entities this time. I may connect them at the top (for lack of a better word), or they may just wind up as two dresses worn one over the other. I’m constructing the two layers right now, and once I’m done I’ll try them on and see. I didn’t realize, when I started this project, how difficult it would be to work with the two different fabrics together. Learning is the other half of the battle, I guess.

Leave a Reply

