Fairies: finished!

4 Jun

As of about 2:30 in the morning on Saturday, the grape fairies are done.

Happy_elephant

TruthL had another person not been involved, I would have given up on this shit a long time ago. I was so exhausted and stressed from the final weekend of Scarborough and the trip home (during which I awesomely lost my wallet in Mississippi) that I seriously only wanted to sleep next to mr. biscuit and maybe play some video games, BUT. a friend of mine was counting on me, so I whined quite a lot, but I persevered.

 Finished product:

IMG_20130602_122746_083

Dani as the white grape fairy!

Things I don’t have include a full-body picture of me as the red grape fairy, any good closeups of our makeup, and another petit four (unrelated to this post). 

Ultimately, I was happy with how this turned out. At the very least, I learned a lot: to wit, I am never making wings again, and sheer fabric sucks. I also made a really bad decision at some point on Saturday. Knowing how much more comfortable corsets are with tabbed bones to distribute the pressure along the hips, I cut the waist cinchers about an inch longer than necessary, intending to cut tabs. Then at some point I was so frazzled and worried about getting everything done on time that I just…didn’t.

 

#shame

#shame

Predictably, this made the waist cinchers too long and super uncomfortable. At least it was for me; Dani didn’t complain. We both looked nice (her more than me, for various reasons), and we had a great time, so I call it a win. In the event we wear these to Dragon*Con, I’m going to re-do the waist cinchers and also buy wings, because as it turns out making them is a huge pain in the ass and they just don’t look very nice.

Pictures!

IMG_20130602_122823_707

: Hair close-up! Fun fact: this doubled as my Red Wedding tribute. #sadface

IMG_20130602_181026_748

Wings close up. They are made from wire hangers, and I promise they looked a lot better before it rained and also I sat on them several times

glitter face

Me, post-glitter war and torrential downpour (which did not happen in that order)

red grape

I DO have a full-body picture of me!

post war

The survivors of the Great Fairy War of 1544

One Response to “Fairies: finished!”

  1. tinkerbellknits June 13, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    I love reading your blogs they make me smile every time. Someone wonderful has nominated me so i’m spreading the love and I just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the WordPress Family Blog Award! x x

Leave a Reply

