I Make Playlists – Henry VIII

1 Aug

I’m kind of a little bit obsessive about Tudor history. You’re surprised! To be fair to you, I’m very quiet about things I’m interested in. I also really like to make themed mixes, whether to burn to CDs (my favorite, perhaps because I am An Old) or listen to obsessively on Spotify.

I’ve made a lot of mixes I really love, but I think this is among my favorites of all time.

Hank 8

A Mix for Henry VIII,
His Wives, Mistresses, Would-be Wives, Children,
and Daddy Issues

(I never could think of good songs for his sisters, and am open to suggestions).

https://open.spotify.com/embed/user/stonebiscuit/playlist/1ayYy7A8R5uvYIGffWvhoa

Wives
Being Queen Won’t Get You Ever After Anymore – Joni Minstrel
Ring the Alarm – BeyoncĂ© (Catherine of Aragon)
So What – P!nk (Anne Boleyn)
Careful What You Wish For – Eminem (Jane Seymour)
Survivor – Destiny’s Child (Anne of Cleves)
I Never Loved You Anyway – The Corrs (Catherine Howard)
The King is Dead but the Queen is Alive – P!nk (Catherine Parr) (apparently this is some kind of Japanese exclusive and the real track isn’t on Spotify, so listen here)

Mistresses and Would-Be Wives
Hot ‘N Cold – Katy Perry (Madge Shelton)
If You Seek Amy – Britney Spears (Mary Boleyn)
Womanizer – Britney Spears (Christina of Denmark)

Children
King Nothing – Metallica (Henry Fitzroy)
Who Are You – The Who (Edward VI)
Killer Queen – Queen (Mary I)
Run the World – BeyoncĂ© (Elizabeth I)

Hank Hisownself
Make it Rain – Ed Shereen
Used to Love Her – Guns N’ Roses
Henry the 8th – Herman’s Hermits

I well and truly love to hate Hank 8. He was just such a douche.

Leave a Reply

