Announcing the Fabulous Costume Movie Madness Tournament of Champions!

1 Mar

If you’re into sports, or hang out with someone who is, or if you’ve ever stepped into a bar in the US or turned on a TV in the spring, you may be aware of this little thing called March Madness. You know, the basketball tournament with the brackety thing?

You may insert your favorite teams as desired

Yes, that!

Being 6′ tall since the age of 12, I was strong-armed into playing basketball for two miserable, embarrassing seasons (I was very bad at it), and since nothing it sexier than clinging to childhood trauma, I still harbor deep resentment for the sport and all its trappings. That doesn’t mean I can’t use its trappings to my own end, though! And with that in mind…

“What Is This I Can’t Even” and stone biscuit productions are pleased to bring you

The Fabulous Costume Movie Madness Tournament of Champions

What is it? A tournament-style…uh, tournament, where I post a lot of pretty pictures and readers vote for their favorite fabulously-costumed movie to become Champion of Champions!

What movies will be involved? We’re still finalizing our competitors, but I can tell you that the field is broad and includes a number of classic costume dramas as well as some films you may not even have heard of.

When it starts

I’ll announce the field of competitors on Sunday, March 10. The first round of voting begins on Wednesday, March 13, and continues from there, leading up to the Championship Vote on Saturday, March 30.

Mark your calendars, put on your voting hats, and get ready to argue for your favorites!

8 Responses to “Announcing the Fabulous Costume Movie Madness Tournament of Champions!”

  1. cbelles March 1, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    Do we get to suggest movies/costumes? or genres?
    and you would have been good at basketball if you had ever tried! like algebra you have to actually try to be good at it!

    • stonebiscuit March 1, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

      You’re absolutely welcome to suggest movies, but I can’t promise they’ll be included!

    • stonebiscuit March 1, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

      And as to your basketball-related falsehoods, madame, I have nothing to say. :P

  2. Kat aka Radclyffe March 1, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

    Yes! I fuggin love it!

  3. tailorfairy March 4, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    I have nominated you for the Liebster Award http://tailorfairy.com/2013/03/04/liebster-award/

  4. ♔ la dauphine ♔ March 5, 2013 at 12:41 am #

    Congratulations! You’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award! Hope you accept! http://tinyurl.com/a8ttahw

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Liebster Award | tailorfairy - March 4, 2013

    […] what is this I can’t even […]

  2. Fabulous Costume Movie Madness Tournament of Champions: And the winner is… | What Is This I Can't Even - April 9, 2013

    […] though, allow me to say a quick word of thanks for all your votes and attention. A little over a month ago, when we began this little tournament, I had no idea it would be so much fun, or that I would swear […]

Leave a comment